Domain-driven Design in Practice

Training iSAQB® CPSA®-Advanced DDD — 3 days

Technology
Methodology20
Communication10
Dates and Booking

-- Description

In this training you will learn everything you need to know to get started with domain-driven design. You will learn about collaborative modeling, align the business and software architecture with the strategic design, create highly specific domain models with the aid of tactical design patterns, and arrange teams and architecture with the help of the context map.

All participants will receive a free copy of Michael Plöd’s e-book »Hands On Domain-driven Design – by Example«.

Day 1 Get an overview and discover the history behind domain-driven design. You will also learn a little about concepts such as ubiquitous language and the motivation for close cooperation between domain experts and software developers. In the afternoon an event-storming session considers the big picture by means of a case study.

Day 2 The second day is dedicated to strategic domain-driven design. You will learn to differentiate between the problem space and the solution space. We will separate the problem domains of our case study into sub-domains and categorize these as core, support, or generic domains. We then dive into the solution space by identifying the correct bounded contexts, ideas, and elements of the bounded context design canvas. Not only will you learn all the essentials of the problem domains, sub-domains, and bounded contexts, but also apply these ideas in practice by means of many exercises.

Day 3 We use the first part of the day to implement the ideas and designs of the tactical domain-driven design in practice. We undertake a design-level event storming for one of the bounded contexts that we identified on the second day. This allows us to identify candidates for aggregates, services, and policies. We will then look for suitable candidates for entities and value objects.

In the afternoon, we turn to the socio-technical aspects of domain-driven design. You will learn about the orientation of teams, bounded contexts, and governance. We will mostly deal with the context-mapping designs in the literature on domain-driven design, but you will also get a brief overview of alternatives such as team topologies.

-- Your Benefits

Learned approaches can be used in projects straight away

Allows you to establish technologically driven vertical slices in your software architecture

You learn how to use event storming to increase general understanding of subject-matter knowledge

-- Audience

This training is aimed at software developers and architects, product owners, and anyone in business working with digital products. There are no programming exercises in this training. Developers however receive a huge amount of resources as well as a link to a GitHub repository with a corresponding video from Michael Plöd to allow a deeper technical understanding. Participants should have at least some experience in the development and delivery of software products. A little knowledge of software architecture is advantageous but not essential.

-- Training Objectives

Motivation and all elements of the methodology

Usage with the help of agile practices

Undertaking of collaborative modeling workshops such as event storming and domain storytelling

Defining problem domains and dividing them into categorized sub-domains

Designing bounded contexts from different perspectives

Use of tactical design patterns such as aggregate, entity, value object, and service

Design of socio-technical architectures with governance through the application of context maps

-- Your Trainers

Michael Plöd

Domain-driven Design, EventStorming, software architecture

Johannes Seitz

Domain-driven Design, IT renovation, agile methods

-- Our Customers Say

»I liked it very much. It was a lot of input. A lot of resources for even more input was given. I'm keen on giving the event-storming and the context mapping a try with my colleagues.«
Matthias Thar
Bayerischer Rundfunk

-- Technical Information and Books

Domain-Driven Design Referenz – Definitionen & Muster

Domain-driven Design spielt beim Entwerfen und Umsetzen von fachlich anspruchsvollen Systemen eine entscheidende Rolle. Für das Verständnis von DDD ist die DDD-Referenz von Eric Evans eine unverzichtbare Quelle – und liegt mit diesem Buch erstmalig in deutscher Übersetzung vor. Sowohl die Originalversion, als auch die Übersetzung stehen unter Creative-Common-Lizenz. Mehr Infos

Hands On Domain-driven Design – by example

Domain-driven Design practically explained with a massive case study. This book aims to explain the concepts of Domain-driven Design in a way that it is easily applicable in practice. Each chapter contains a theoretical part which is explained from the point of view of practical applicability and then exercises with solutions based on a comprehensive, complex case study (real estate loans). More Info

Online Courses

On-site Courses

Event ticketing software by pretix

More information on our loyalty discount. Regular customer? Write to us!

In-House Training

You can also book this training as an in-house training course exclusively for your team. Please use the enquiry form for more details.

Enquire now

Domain-driven Design in der Praxis

Training iSAQB® CPSA®-Advanced DDD — 3 Tage

Technik
Methodik20
Kommunikation10
Termine und Buchung

-- Beschreibung

In diesem Training lernst Du alles, was Du wissen musst, um mit Domain-driven Design zu starten. Du lernst Techniken der kollaborativen Modellierung kennen, richtest die Geschäfts- und Softwarearchitektur auf das strategische Design aus, entwirfst hochspezifische Domänenmodelle mit Hilfe der taktischen Entwurfsmuster und richtest Teams und Architektur mit Hilfe der Context Map aus.

Alle Teilnehmer:innen erhalten ein Gratis-Exemplar von Michael Plöds eBook »Hands-on Domain-driven Design – by example«.

Tag 1 Gewinne einen Überblick und lerne die Geschichte hinter Domain-driven Design kennen. Du erfährst außerdem etwas über Konzepte wie die Ubiquitous Language und die Motivation für eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Domänenexpert:innen und Softwarepraktiker:innen. Der Nachmittag besteht aus einer Big Picture EventStorming-Sitzung zur Fallstudie.

Tag 2 Der zweite Tag steht ganz im Zeichen des Strategic Domain-driven Design. Du lernst, zwischen Problem- und Lösungsraum zu unterscheiden. Wir werden die Problemdomäne unserer Fallstudie in Unterdomänen zerlegen und diese in Core-, Support- und Generic-Domains kategorisieren. Danach tauchen wir in den Solution Space ein, indem wir die richtigen Bounded Contexts, Ideen und Elemente aus dem Bounded Context Design Canvas identifizieren. Du lernst nicht nur alle Grundlagen der Problemdomänen, Subdomänen und Bounded Contexts kennen. Du setzt diese Ideen auch mit vielen Übungen in die Praxis um!

Tag 3 Wir nutzen den ersten Teil des Tages, um die Ideen und Muster des taktischen Domain-driven Designs in die Praxis umzusetzen. Wir führen ein Design-Level-EventStorming für einen der Bounded Contexts durch, die wir am zweiten Tag identifiziert haben. Dadurch können wir Kandidaten für Aggregates, Services und Policies identifizieren. Danach werden wir auch nach geeigneten Kandidaten für Entitäten und Value Objects suchen.

Im zweiten Teil des Tages dreht sich alles um den soziotechnischen Teil von Domain-driven Design. Du lernst die Ausrichtung von Teams, Bounded Contexts und Governance kennen. Wir werden uns hauptsächlich mit den Context-Mapping-Mustern aus der Literatur zum Domain-driven Design befassen, aber Du erhältst auch einen kurzen Überblick über Alternativen wie etwa Team-Topologien.

-- Dein Nutzen

Gelernte Vorgehensweisen können sofort in Projekten umgesetzt werden

Versetzt Dich in die Lage, fachlich getriebene, vertikale Schnitte in Deiner Software-Architektur zu etablieren

Du lernst, wie Du EventStormings durchführst, um Fachlichkeit gemeinsam besser zu verstehen

-- Zielgruppe

Dieses Training richtet sich an Software-Entwickler:innen, -Architekt:innen, Product Owner oder Menschen aus dem Business-Kontext, die an digitalen Produkten arbeiten. In dieser Schulung gibt es keine Programmierübungen. Entwickler:innen erhalten jedoch eine Menge Ressourcen und einen Link zu einem GitHub-Repository mit einem dazugehörigen Video von Michael Plöd, um technisch noch tiefer einzusteigen. Du solltest über einige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und dem Delivery von Softwareprodukten verfügen. Etwas Know-how in Software-Architektur ist von Vorteil, aber nicht erforderlich.

-- Lernziele

Motivation und alle Elemente der Methodik

Anwendung mit Hilfe agiler Praktiken

Durchführung von kollaborativen Modellierungs-Workshops wie EventStorming und Domain Storytelling

Problemdomänen abgrenzen und in kategorisierte Subdomänen unterteilen

Bounded Contexts aus verschiedenen Perspektiven entwerfen

Anwendung von taktischen Design Patterns wie Aggregate, Entity, Value Object und Service

Entwurf von soziotechnischen Architekturen mit Governance unter Verwendung von Context Maps

-- Deine Trainer:innen

Michael Plöd

Domain-driven Design, EventStorming, Software-Architektur

Johannes Seitz

Domain-driven Design, IT-Sanierung, agile Methoden

-- Unsere Kund:innen sagen

»Ich fand es perfekt, von einer wirklich breiten Sichtweise bis hin zum Detail. Es war fantastisch!«
Alex Jäger
CEO, The Fittest

-- Fachinfos und Bücher

Domain-Driven Design Referenz – Definitionen & Muster

Domain-driven Design spielt beim Entwerfen und Umsetzen von fachlich anspruchsvollen Systemen eine entscheidende Rolle. Für das Verständnis von DDD ist die DDD-Referenz von Eric Evans eine unverzichtbare Quelle – und liegt mit diesem Buch erstmalig in deutscher Übersetzung vor. Sowohl die Originalversion, als auch die Übersetzung stehen unter Creative-Common-Lizenz. Mehr Infos

Hands On Domain-driven Design – by example

Domain-driven Design practically explained with a massive case study. This book aims to explain the concepts of Domain-driven Design in a way that it is easily applicable in practice. Each chapter contains a theoretical part which is explained from the point of view of practical applicability and then exercises with solutions based on a comprehensive, complex case study (real estate loans). Mehr Infos

Online-Termine

Vor-Ort-Termine

Termine auf Anfrage

Event-Ticketing-Software von pretix

Mehr Infos zu unserem Loyalty-Rabatt. Stammkund:in? Schreib uns!

Inhouse Training

Du kannst dieses Training auch als Inhouse-Training exklusiv für Dein Team buchen. Bitte nutze dafür unser Anfrage-Formular.

Jetzt anfragen