Illustration of iSAQB®

Internationally Recognized Advanced Training for People Working in Software.

iSAQB® and Our Contribution

The International Software Architecture Qualification Board (iSAQB®) brings together leading experts from industry, consulting companies, and science. This includes many people of distinction in the world of software architecture. And all with one goal: competent education and further training – internationally recognized, standardized, certified, and always up to date. We are proud that many of us as curators in iSAQB® have jointly masterminded the curricula and examination tasks.

Training according to iSAQB® – A Short Guide

The job title "software architect" is not protected, and the role is interpreted and practiced differently in every company. This makes it all the more important to specify the direction – with an internationally recognized certification. Then everyone can orient themselves around it, regardless of whether they want to follow this career path themselves or are looking to strengthen their team with competent talent.

The iSAQB® CPSA® (Certified Professional for Software Architecture) program consists of two training levels, with a third in the planning stage:

CPSA®-F
Foundation Level

With this certification, you prove that you have mastered the foundations of software architecture and all required tools. You can independently design the architecture of a system, document it, ensure its quality, and evaluate it.

CPSA®-A
Advanced Level

The Advanced Level certification proves a high level of expertise. It is modularly constructed and divided into three fields of competence: methodical, technical, and communicative. You can solve demanding tasks, assume technical responsibility, and communicate your architecture in an understandable and convincing manner.

CPSA®-E
Expert Level

The Expert Level is currently in the planning stage as an additional and highest certification level. Our experts are involved in the development of this new level.

More information can be found at isaqb.org

To the training modules

The Credit Points System

17 Advanced Modules, 3 Subject Areas, 70 Credit Points.

The credit points are the prerequisite for your participation in the examination to become a Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Advanced Level (CPSA®‑A).

As a rule of thumb for the calculation, the following applies: Each training day is awarded with 10 credit points. However, a maximum of 30 credit points are available for a single training course, even if lasts longer than three days. Once awarded, credit points are valid indefinitely.

You require at least 70 credit points in total. However, you must have been awarded at least 10 credit points in each of the three competence areas. So when choosing your modules you can, for example, focus on the methodical competence, but you must also enroll in modules from the fields of technology and communication.

By the way: As we are an accredited training provider of iSAQB®, you receive credit points from all the iSAQB® modules offered by us.

FAQ

What do I need to receive certification for the Advanced Level?

Firstly, you need to have successfully completed the training and certification for CPSA®-F (Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Foundation Level). In addition, you need at least three years' full-time professional experience in the IT industry. This includes collaborating on the design and development of at least two different IT systems (or similar, such as collaboration in open-source projects).

Once you have additionally collected the 70 credit points required, you can register for the exam.

How does the Advanced Level exam work?

You must successfully complete an examination task and answer the questions of two independent examiners provided by iSAQB®.

Here you can find an example of a possible task and here the official examination rules.

Do I still receive a certificate of attendance for Advanced Level training courses if I arrive late or have to finish early?

If you have attended at least 75 percent of the Advanced Level training course, this is no problem. If however you complete less than this, then the credit points available for the course unfortunately cannot be awarded. You must repeat either the entire training course or the missing sections in order to receive the credit points. This rule also applies in cases where the absence is out of your control (e.g., illness, accident, traffic delays, etc.).

Can I also take part in Advanced Level training courses without having been certified?

Ja! You can participate in Advanced Level training courses even if you do not have Foundation Level certification and/or are not aiming for Advanced Level certification. You will certainly learn valuable skills for your day-to-day work.

I have lost my certification or my certificate of attendance. Can it be reissued?

Yes. Please contact the certification body that conducted your examination, or iSAQB® directly. You can request a copy of your certificate within a period of 10 years of the examination date. We are happy to reissue certificates of attendance.

On the following pages you will find additional FAQs as well as all downloads of iSAQB®.

Illustration zu iSAQB®

International anerkannte Weiterbildung für Menschen, die an Software arbeiten

Das iSAQB® und was wir dazu beitragen

Im International Software Architecture Qualification Board, kurz iSAQB®, haben sich Expert:innen aus der Industrie, aus Beratungsunternehmen und aus der Wissenschaft zusammengeschlossen. Viele Menschen, die in der Softwarearchitektur Rang und Namen haben. Und alle mit einem Ziel: eine fundierte Aus- und Weiterbildung – weltweit anerkannt, standardisiert, zertifiziert und immer auf dem neuesten Stand. Wir sind stolz darauf, dass viele von uns federführend als Kurator:innen im iSAQB die Lehrpläne und Prüfungsaufgaben mitentwickeln.

Die Ausbildung nach iSAQB® – Ein kleiner Wegweiser

Die Berufsbezeichnung »Softwarearchitekt:in« ist nicht geschützt, die Rolle in jedem Unternehmen anders interpretiert und gelebt. Umso wichtiger ist es, eine Richtung vorzugeben – mit einer international anerkannten Zertifizierung. Daran können sich alle orientieren. Ganz gleich, ob sie selbst diesen Berufsweg einschlagen wollen oder eine kompetente Verstärkung für ihr Team suchen.

Das iSAQB® CPSA®-Programm (Certified Professional for Software Architecture) besteht aus zwei Ausbildungsstufen, eine dritte Stufe ist geplant:

CPSA®-F
Foundation Level

Mit dieser Zertifizierung belegst Du, dass Du die Grundlagen der Softwarearchitektur und alle notwendigen Werkzeuge beherrschst: Du kannst eigenständig die Architektur eines Systems entwerfen, es dokumentieren, seine Qualität sichern und es bewerten.

CPSA®-A
Advanced Level

Die Zertifizierung für Fortgeschrittene belegt eine hohe Sachkenntnis. Sie ist modular aufgebaut und teilt sich in drei Kompetenzbereiche: Methodik, Technologie und Kommunikation. Du kannst anspruchsvolle Aufgaben lösen, technische Verantwortung übernehmen und Deine Architektur verständlich und überzeugend kommunizieren.

CPSA®-E
Expert Level

Der Expert Level ist als weitere und höchste Zertifizierungsstufe in der Planung. An der Entwicklung dieser neuen Stufe arbeiten auch unsere Expert:innen mit.

Mehr Details findest Du unter isaqb.org

Zu den Ausbildungsmodulen

Das Credit Points System

17 Advanced Module, 3 Themenbereiche, 70 Credit Points.

Die Credit Points sind die Grundvoraussetzung für Deine Teilnahme an der Prüfung zum Certified Professional for Software Architecture - Advanced Level (CPSA®‑A).

Als Faustregel für die Berechnung gilt: Jeder Trainingstag wird mit 10 Credit Points bewertet. Für ein Training erhält man jedoch maximal 30 Credit Points, selbst wenn es länger als drei Tage dauert. Einmal erworbene Credit Points sind dann unbegrenzt gültig.

Insgesamt benötigst Du mindestens 70 Credit Points, allerdings müssen alle drei Kompetenzbereiche mit mindestens zehn Credit Points abgedeckt sein. So kannst Du beispielsweise bei der Wahl Deiner Module den Schwerpunkt auf Methodik setzen, solltest aber unbedingt auch Module aus den Bereichen Technologie und Kommunikation belegen.

Übrigens: Da wir vom iSAQB® akkreditierte Trainingsprovider sind, bekommst du auf alle von uns hier angebotenen iSAQB®-Module auch Credit Points angerechnet.

FAQ

Was brauche ich, um mich für das Advanced-Level zertifizieren zu lassen?

Zum einen benötigst Du eine erfolgreiche Ausbildung und Zertifizierung zum CPSA®-F (Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Foundation Level). Außerdem kannst du mindestens drei Jahre Vollzeit-Berufserfahrung in der IT-Branche vorweisen. Dabei solltest Du am Entwurf und der Entwicklung von mindestens zwei unterschiedlichen IT-Systemen mitgearbeitet haben (oder ähnliches wie z. B. die Mitarbeit in Open-Source Projekten).

Wenn Du dann noch die erforderlichen 70 Credit Points gesammelt hast, kannst Du Dich für die Prüfung anmelden.

Wie läuft die Abschlussprüfung zum Advanced Level ab?

Du musst eine Prüfungsaufgabe erfolgreich bearbeiten und Dich den Fragen von zwei unabhängigen, vom iSAQB® bestellten Prüfer:innen stellen.

Hier findest Du ein Beispiel für eine mögliche Aufgabe und hier die offiziellen Prüfungsregeln.

Bekomme ich auch eine Teilnahmebescheinigung für Trainings im Advanced Level, wenn ich ein Training abbrechen muss oder verspätet teilnehme?

Wenn Du mindestens 75 Prozent des Advanced-Level-Trainings besucht hast, ist das kein Problem. Absolvierst Du weniger als diesen Zeitanteil, dürfen die vorgesehenen Credit Points leider nicht vergeben werden. Du musst das gesamte Training oder den fehlenden Teil nachholen, um die Credit Points zu erlangen. Diese Regelung gilt in jedem Fall auch bei Gründen, die nicht in Deinem Verschulden liegen (z. B. Krankheit, Unfälle, Feierabendverkehr, etc.).

Kann ich auch ohne Zertifizierung an den Trainings des Advanced Levels teilnehmen?

Ja! Auch wenn Du keine Foundation Level-Zertifizierung besitzt und/oder keine Advanced Level-Zertifizierung anstrebst, kannst Du an den Trainings des Advanced Levels teilnehmen. In jedem Fall erwirbst Du wertvolle Skills für Deine tägliche Arbeit.

Ich habe mein Zertifikat oder meine Teilnahmebescheinigung verloren. Kann es neu ausgestellt werden?

Ja. Wende Dich für das Zertifikat einfach an die Zertifizierungsstelle, die Deine Prüfung abgenommen hat, oder direkt an das iSAQB®. Grundsätzlich kannst Du im Zeitraum von 10 Jahren nach dem Prüfungsdatum eine Kopie Deines Zertifikats beantragen. Teilnahmebescheinigungen stellen wir Dir gerne erneut aus.

Auf folgenden Seiten findest Du weitere FAQs sowie alle Downloads des iSAQB®.